Are Your Jelly Beans Gluten Free? (2023)

Last updated on April 10th, 2023

Fact Checked April 4, 2023

Yay jelly beans! Remember guessing the flavor and matching colors to the flavor chart? Hunting for plastic eggs and then opening them to count the sweet jelly beans inside? Did you ever sneak shiny jelly beans from the candy dish when the grownups weren’t looking? Except now you’re the grownup and you have to research if there’s gluten in jelly beans. No fun. But don’t worry—we’ve got your back with the ultimate guide to gluten-free jelly beans.

jelly bean background with words: are your jelly beans gluten free?

Gluten-Free Jelly Bean Guide:

Hopefully the following list will help in your jelly bean research. Remember to check the labels because manufacturing practices and ingredients can always change, especially now with snags in supply chains. Listen to your gut, and reach out to the manufacturer if you need more clarification.

Big Win Jelly Beans

Rite Aid’s Big Win jelly beans may contain wheat.

Brach’s Jelly Beans

The following Brach’s jelly beans are manufactured where wheat is used for other products:

  • Black Jelly Bird Eggs
  • Classic Jelly Beans
  • Classic Jelly Bird Eggs
  • Milk Chocolate Jelly Bird Mix
  • Red Jelly Bird Eggs
  • Speckled Jelly Bird Eggs
  • Spiced Jelly Bird Eggs
  • Tiny 24-Flavor Jelly Beans

Dare Real Hoppy Jelly Beans

Delightful! All Dare Candy Co. jelly beans are gluten free!

Dunkin' Jelly Beans

Dunkin’ jelly beans are manufactured in a facility that processes wheat.

Gimbal's Jelly Beans

Go for it! Gimbal’s jelly beans are gluten free!

Gold Emblem Jelly Beans

CVS’s private label Gold Emblem jelly beans are packed in a facility with products containing wheat.

Great Value Jelly Beans

Walmart’s Great Value jelly beans may contain traces of wheat.

Howe Jumbo Jelly Beans

Howe Jumbo Jelly Beans are packaged in a facility that also processes wheat.

Jelly Belly Jelly Beans

Jump for joy! Jelly Belly jelly beans are gluten free! But be on the lookout for repacks by secondary companies–they might be packaged on equipment that also processes wheat. Jelly beans packaged in-house by Jelly Belly are celiac safe.

Jolly Rancher Jelly Beans

Jolly Rancher jelly beans don’t include known sources of gluten in their ingredients, but they’re not labeled gluten free. Hershey labels their gluten-free products as such, so you should assume there’s a chance for cross-contact with gluten.

Kirkland Jelly Belly Jelly Beans

This is an example of Jelly Belly repackaging mentioned above. Kirkland’s containers of Jelly Belly jelly beans come with a warning that they were processed on equipment that also packages products that contain wheat.

Nerds Jelly Beans

Nerd jelly beans, including Bumpy and Big Chewy varieties, are made in a facility where wheat is used to produce other products.

Peeps Jelly Beans

We did not come across Peeps jelly beans in 2023, but if you come across some, manufacturer Just Born suggests you check the package for the words gluten free.

Russell Stover Jelly Beans

Russell Stover jelly beans may contain wheat.

Scripture Candy Jelly Beans

Scripture Candy doesn’t make their own candy: they purchase candy from various suppliers from around the world and then use their own packaging. Most of their jelly beans are manufactured in facilities that also process wheat, and they disclose it on the back of the packaging.

Skittles Jelly Beans

Although Skittles are labeled gluten free, bags of Skittle jelly beans do not carry the same designation, signaling a chance of cross-contact with wheat. Mars Wrigley doesn’t disclose allergen information on their site, but encourages customers to read product packaging. Gluten-free candy will be marked as such. Check the label for the words gluten free. If you don’t see them anywhere, it’s a pass.

Starburst Jelly Beans

Starburst Jelly Beans are also made by Mars Wrigley. If the words gluten free are missing from the bag then they have potential for cross-contact with gluten.

Surf Sweet Jelly Beans

So good! Surf Sweets jelly beans are gluten free!

Sweetart Jelly Beans

Sweetart jelly beans are manufactured in a facility where wheat is used in the production of other products.

Trolli Sour Brite Jelly Beans

Trolli jelly beans are made in a facility where wheat is used in other products.

Welch's Jelly Beans

Welch’s jelly beans are manufactured by Frankford Candy company, which lists allergen warnings on the packaging. Watch out for statements like, manufactured on shared equipment that processes wheat, or manufactured in a facility that processes wheat.

YumEarth Jelly Beans

It doesn't look like YumEarth is offering jelly beans in 2023, but in 2022 the FAQ section of their website disclosed that they were both manufactured on equipment that also processes wheat and packaged at a facility that contains wheat. However, the facilities followed Allergen Control programs to keep the candy free from gluten.

The Takeaway

What are we missing? If you wonder about gluten in another brand you don’t see here, or if you find the gluten status of any jelly beans has changed, leave a comment below. Let’s build the jelly bean list to keep everyone healthy and gluten free!

Check out these Easter basket eco-friendly choices

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *